The Rosa Schapire Art Prize
is an award given by the
Freunde der Hamburger
Kunsthalle.

The Rosa Schapire Art Prize.

An homage to being different.

By awarding the Rosa Schapire Art Prize, the Freunde der Kunsthalle advocates a luminous and unfettered interpretation of art. The prize shall honour an artist’s personality, whose piece of art qualifies as a valuable and vivid contribution to the collection of the traditional yet aspirational museum Hamburger Kunsthalle.

UNI
QUE.
ROSA

The [obstinate] idea.

No jury. One judge.

Is it possible for a single person to decide who shall be awarded with the €20,000 art prize? Yes it is. And it should be. Instead of being a majority decision, the Rosa Schapire Art Prize is intended to make a bold statement. For this purpose, the respective director of the Hamburger Kunsthalle shall annually invite a colleague or public person to serve as the judge. The presentation shall then take place in the setting of an award ceremony. Furthermore, the award-winning piece of art will be acquired by Freunde der Kunsthalle and donated to the Kunsthalle.

Friends of the Hamburger Kunsthalle.

Friends by virtue of passion – Supporters by virtue of belief.

With more than 18.000 members, „Freunde der Kunsthalle“ is one of the most prominent friends’ associations in the German-speaking world. Since 1923, following the idea of the founder, director Gustav Pauli, the organisation works towards the following goals: conveying art to the general public and aiding the Kunsthalle in the acquisition of art as well as the funding of exhibitions.

Friends of the Kunsthalle is an excellently lead organisation, carried by a wide margin of people.
And if I was born again, I would walk down the exact same path. Rosa Schapire
tena
cious.
rosa

A [tenacious] character.

Rosa. Schapire.

Rosa Schapire (1874-1954) was recognized by the people of her time as a grand pioneer in the field of contemporary modern art. Full of enthusiasm and zest for action, this extraordinary art historian fought for the abolishment of traditional perceptions of art. She was a friend, a supporter and an advocate. In her time, her commitment without backing was extremely courageous.

One [brave] judge.

Wholly independent.

The judge of the Rosa Schapire Art Prize shall be solely committed to the dauntless and passionate spirit of the eponymous art historian. Not an easy task, yet fascinating and honourable. Whom would Rosa choose? Whom would she support, award, highlight among the huge amount of superb artists?

Any individual has an extraordinary potential -  provided that he is ready and willing to commit. Rosa Schapire

The

Judge 2018

Agnieszka Morawinska, Ph.D. studied art history at the University of Warsaw. From 1976 to 1991 she worked as a curator of the Gallery of Polish Art in the National Museum in Warsaw. From 1991 to 1992 she held the position as an Under Secretary of State for Foreign Relations at the Ministry of Culture and Arts and as an Ambassador of the Republic of Poland from 1993 to 1997 in Australia, New Zealand and Papua New Guinea. After returning to Poland, she worked as a curator at the Warsaw Royal Castle. From 2001, she lead/chaired the Zachęta National Art Gallery in Warsaw, one of the most important institutions for contemporary art in Poland, before assuming/taking over the position of director of the National Museum in Warsaw in autumn 2010. In May 2018 she resigned due to a lack of communication with the Ministry of Culture.

AGNIESZKA
MORAWINSKA

The

Artist 2018

Born in 1937 in Zywiec, Natalia Lach-Lachowicz, or Natalia LL, is a pioneer of feminist art in Poland. Already in her early works she deals with the female subject in a patriarchal, increasingly consumerist society and were quickly perceived/ackknowledged by well-known feminist critics such as Lucy Lippard. In 1963, Natalia LL received her diploma from the State High School of Arts in Wroclaw (currently the Academy of Fine Arts). Together with her fellow artists Andrzej Lachowicz, Zbigniew Dlubak and Antoni Dzieduszycki, she founded and directed the PERMAFO Gallery, which offered artists a space for experiments in photography. Natalia LL was a lecturer at the University of Arts in Poznan from 2004 to 2013. Her works include painting, sculpture, installation, photography, video, performance and drawing. She lives and works in Wroclaw.

Der Rosa Schapire Kunstpreis
ist ein Kunstpreis der
Freunde der Hamburger
Kunsthalle.

Der Rosa Schapire Kunstpreis.

Eine Hommage ans Anderssein.

Mit dem Rosa-Schapire-Kunstpreis möchten die Freunde der Hamburger Kunsthalle für einen klaren und unbeirrten Blick auf die Kunst eintreten. Geehrt werden soll eine Künstlerpersönlichkeit, deren Werk geeignet ist, ein traditionsreiches und richtungweisendes Museum wie die Hamburger Kunsthalle zu bereichern und lebendig zu halten.

Ein
zig
artig.
Rosa

Die [eigenwillige] Idee.

Keine Jury. Ein Juror.

Kann eine einzelne Person darüber entscheiden, wer einen mit 20.000 Euro dotierten Kunstpreis erhält? Ja, sie kann. Und soll. Denn der Rosa-Schapire-Kunstpreis will nicht das Ergebnis einer Mehrheitsentscheidung sein, sondern ein mutiges Statement. Dieses Statement abzugeben, wird vom Direktor oder der Direktorin der Hamburger Kunsthalle jedes Jahr ein anderer Museumskollege oder eine Persönlichkeit des öffentlichen Lebens eingeladen. Der Rosa-Schapire-Kunstpreis wird im Rahmen eines Festaktes überreicht. Zusätzlich kaufen die Freunde der Kunsthalle ein Werk des Preisträgers an, das sie der Kunsthalle als Geschenk überlassen.

Die Freunde der Hamburger Kunsthalle.

Freunde aus Leidenschaft – Förderer aus Überzeugung.

Die Freunde der Kunsthalle e. V. gehören mit über 18.000 Mitgliedern zu den wichtigsten Freundeskreisen im deutschsprachigen Raum. Nach dem Willen ihres Initiators, dem Kunsthallendirektor Gustav Pauli, setzen sie sich seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 1923 für die Kunstvermittlung ein und unterstützen die Hamburger Kunsthalle beim Erwerb von Kunstwerken und der Finanzierung von Ausstellungen.

Die Freunde der Kunsthalle [sind] eine von breitesten Schichten getragene, vorzüglich geleitete Vereinigung
Und wenn ich noch mal wieder auf die Welt käme, dann würde ich genau wieder den gleichen Weg beschreiten!
Eigen
sinnig.
Rosa

Die [eigensinnige] Persönlichkeit.

Rosa. Schapire.

Rosa Schapire (1874 – 1954) wurde schon von ihren Zeitgenossen als große Vorkämpferin für die zeitgenössische Moderne wahrgenommen. Mit Begeisterung und voller Tatendrang setzte sich die außergewöhnliche Kunsthistorikerin dafür ein, tradierte Kunstauffassungen aufzulösen. Sie war Freundin, Förderin und Fürsprecherin. Ein rückhaltloses Engagement, das zu ihrer Zeit viel Mut verlangte.

Die [mutige] Jurorin.

Vollkommen frei.

Der Juror des Rosa-Schapire-Kunstpreises ist einzig dem unerschrockenen und leidenschaftlichen Geist der Namensgeberin verpflichtet. Keine leichte Aufgabe, aber eine faszinierende und ehrenvolle. Wen würde Rosa wählen? Wen würde sie fördern, auszeichnen, herausheben aus der großen Zahl großartiger Künstler?

"Der Einzelne vermag ausserordentlich viel, vorausgesetzt, dass er guten Willens ist und die Bereitschaft hat, sich einzusetzen.

Die

Jurorin 2018

Die 1944 in Warschau geborene promovierte Kunsthistorikerin, Agnieszka Morawinska, begann ihre Karriere 1976 als Kuratorin und Kunstkritikerin in der Galerie für polnische Kunst im Nationalmuseum in Warschau. In den Jahren 1991 und 1992 war sie Unterstaatssekretärin für auswärtige Beziehungen im Ministerium für Kultur und Kunst, bevor sie von 1993 bis 1997 als Botschafterin der Republik Polen nach Australien, Neuseeland und Papua-Neuguinea entsandt war. Zurück in Polen arbeitete sie als Kuratorin am Warschauer Königsschloss. Ab 2001 leitete sie die Nationale Kunstgalerie Zacheta in Warschau, eine der bedeutendsten Institutionen für zeitgenössische Kunst in Polen, bevor sie im Herbst 2010 die Stellung als Direktorin des Nationalmuseums in Warschau annahm. Im Mai 2018 erklärte sie dort aufgrund mangelnder Kommunikation mit dem Kulturministerium ihren Rücktritt.

 

AGNIESZKA
MORAWINSKA
Natalia
LL

Die

Künstlerin 2018

Die 1937 in Zywiec geborene Künstlerin Natalia LL (Natalia Lach-Lachowicz) ist eine Pionierin der feministischen Kunst in Polen. Bereits in ihren frühen Arbeiten befasst sie sich mit dem weiblichen Subjekt in einer patriarchalischen, zunehmend konsumorientierten Gesellschaft und ihre Werke wurden schnell von bekannten feministischen Kritikern wie Lucy Lippard wahrgenommen. 1963 erhielt Natalia LL ihr Diplom an der staatlichen Kunsthochschule in Breslau. Zusammen mit ihren Künstlerkollegen Andrzej Lachowicz, Zbigniew Dlubak and Antoni Dzieduszycki gründete und leitete sie die PERMAFO Galerie, die Künstlern Raum bot, mit Fotografie zu experimentieren. Darüber hinaus war Natalia LL von 2004 bis 2013 als Dozentin an der Universität der Künste in Posen tätig. Ihr Werk umfasst Malerei, Skulptur, Installation, Fotografie, Video, Performance und Zeichnung. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Breslau.